PROCEEDINGS

A meeting of the Lancaster City Council was held in the Ashton Hall, Lancaster, at 12.30 p.m. on Friday, 17 May 2019, when the following Members were present:-

David Whitaker (Mayor) Alan Biddulph (Deputy Mayor)

Tim Dant

Tony Anderson Paul Anderton
Richard Austen-Baker Mandy Bannon
Stephie Barber Phillip Black
Vicky Boyd-Power Dave Brookes
Abbott Bryning Keith Budden
Lucie Carrington Roger Cleet

Roger Dennison Gina Dowding
Adrian Duggan Merv Evans
Jason Firth Kevin Frea

Darren Clifford

Mike Greenall

Mel Guilding

June Greenwell

Tim Hamilton-Cox

Janice Hanson Colin Hartley

Tricia Heath Caroline Jackson
Joan Jackson Debbie Jenkins
Mandy King Geoff Knight
Erica Lewis Cary Matthews
Abi Mills Michael Mumford

Jack O'Dwyer-Henry Jean Parr

Joyce Pritchard Robert Redfern
John Reynolds Oliver Robinson
Alistair Sinclair Michael Smith
Malcolm Thomas Anna Thornberry
Anne Whitehead David Whitworth
Jason Wood Joanna Young

COUNCIL 17TH MAY 2019

7 ELECTION OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

Council considered the admittance to the roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City of Lancaster former Councillors June Ashworth, Jon Barry, Eileen Blamire, Sheila Denwood, Helen Helme, Roger Mace, Sylvia Rogerson and Ron Sands in recognition of their eminent service to the district as past Members of the Council.

The motion was moved by Councillor Hanson and seconded by Councillor Greenall. On being put to the vote, the Mayor declared the proposition unanimously carried.

Resolved:-

That pursuant to Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, Mrs June Ashworth, Mr Jon Barry, Mrs Eileen Blamire, Mrs Sheila Denwood, Mrs Helen Helme, Mr Roger Mace, Mrs Sylvia Rogerson and Mr Ron Sands be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City of Lancaster in recognition of their eminent service as a past Member of the Council.

Mrs Ashworth, Mr Barry, Mrs Blamire, Mrs Denwood, Mrs Helme, Mr Mace, Mrs Rogerson and Mr Sands then signed the Roll of Honour and were presented by the Mayor with a framed certificate.

Honorary Alderman Mrs Eileen Blamire then responded to thank Council on behalf of all the new Honorary Aldermen.



(The meeting finished at 12.50pm)

Any queries regarding these minutes, please contact Debbie Chambers, Democratic Services - telephone (01524) 582057 or email dchambers@lancaster.gov.uk